BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So im new to the bimmer world, and I see that the battery is in the trunk.

Can I run my amps power wire right to the positive battery terminal, or do I have to run it from that little positive terminal box under the hood?

running it right to that battery would be so nice and easy but the owners manual says you cant hook anything up to it.

please tell me i can.

·
Registered
2,914 Posts
run it striaght to the batt w/ a fuse inbetween. Also hook the grnd up to the batt grnd! gotta love Bimmer trunk batts!!! So simple to hook up power and ground right there in the tunk! 6 feet of wire and DONE!

PS: Some people on the boards will suggest that you don't do this for some unknown, unproven reasons so just ignore them. But you aint hurrrd dat from me!

·
Registered
2,914 Posts
yeah all 3 of my Bimmers had/have systems wired directly in the trunk for power and ground. Works out great. In my M3 I don't even have a fuse block yet and its been running 800 watts all day long w/ no problem!!!

·
Registered
11,483 Posts
Even better part is that BMW uses pretty thick wire from the engine bay to the trunk. Good up to 200 amps of current.

·
Registered
1,679 Posts
are you serious? heck that is fantastic!
Do yourself a favor: Hook the fused + line from the amp to the battery BUT hook the amp's negative lead to the audio ground located over the LR wheel. It's located forward and above the location of the OEM amp and the optional CD changer. Hooking the amp's ground lead directly to the battery is never recommended. :str8pimpi

·
Registered
544 Posts