BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I've come just switched over from a heavily modded Rx7 running on a programmable stand alone ECU so I'm not technically retarded when it comes to cars but I have no idea what DSC does I turn it on and off and feel absolutely no difference. Insight anyone?

·
Bimmerless
1,957 Posts
DSC-Dynamic Stability Control

the OBC (onboard computer) in your car sense when one of the wheels is spinning faster than the others, and will reduce or increase power to match all 4 tires spinning the same rate.

but if you are flying around a turn at 90mph, and you hit a streak of water, good luck, nothing works that fast

·
Bimmerless
1,957 Posts
if you want maximum performance in your M3, turn it off, so you can get that wheel spin between gears, and full control of the car

·
Registered
3,186 Posts
Try this to notice the difference:

Do a hard launch with DSC on and then try a hard launch with DSC off.

·
Waiting for my V8 4door M3!
2,665 Posts
Anthony said:
if you want maximum performance in your M3, turn it off, so you can get that wheel spin between gears, and full control of the car
Not to start any beef with you but what kinda stupid response was that?

turn it off to get full control of the car????

DSC helps you to KEEP control of the car. :confused:

·
Registered
665 Posts
The DSC button is for both traction control and dynamic stability. The traction control is what is described above. The other very important function of dynamic stability is that it senses when the car is starting to lose control, such as sliding, and it applies brakes to one or more wheels and/or reduces engine power to bring the car back under control and keep you on the road and away from that telephone pole.

Pretty amazing and effective safety technology. Not foolproof though as you can't deny the laws of physics if you are just going way too fast or hit some real slippery stuff.