E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys im new to all this stuff because this is my first car that i bought.
i want to buy myself a Boston Acoustics' SPG555-4 subwoofer.

these are the specs

race track shape 4-ohm subwoofer
polypropylene woofer cone with foam surround
RadialVent cooling for increased power handling
RVC™ (Removable Voice Coil) and SPS™ (Soft Part System) allows quick field repairs
neodymium magnet structure for light weight
power range: 100-1000 watts RMS
frequency response: 20-350 Hz
sensitivity: 83.6 dB
mounting depth: 8-3/16"
sealed box volume: 1.00 cu. ft.
ported box volume: 2.10-2.50 cu. ft.

what kind of amp should i get for this sub? and would my harmon kardon speakers be fine or should i get new speakers? and if so which ones?

thanks
-yan

·
Registered
248 Posts
The rms of your amp should never excede the rms of your subwoofer. In general it is a good idea to get an amp with a lower rms rating. Also you don't want the peak power of the amp to be higher than that of the sub, else you risk blowwing it. Further more if your sub is a 4 ohm sub you need to run a 4ohm stabel system. in general if you have on sub and one amp you can match the resistance (ohms) and be fine, however when you add more to the system you can use combinations to match the resistance. i.e 2 4 ohm stable subs can run it off a single 2 ohm stable amp.

·
Registered
805 Posts