E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to say I am happy with this setup as I didn't want to go to the extreme the AutoSolutions kit offered. I now am interested in trying it though. I guess it's like forced induction...once you get a taste you want to see how far you can go or in this case how short a shift you can go.

I had some issues with my install, but rather than fly online and bash UCC, I gave them a chance to make it right and they did.

I have been modifying my cars for 25 years now and even OEM manufacturers produce a dud from time to time as do even the most expensive aftermarket companies. It's how they treat you and handle the issues that make the difference.

UCC customer service is excellent. I am not thrilled you can't do email unless you are overseas, but that's their call and they are easy to reach and very helpful on the phone. It's not their fault that my schedule is so complicated at times :)

The car is SO MUCH nicer to drive now than my stock setup and it only had 25,000 miles of easy driving on it. I am using a ZCP knob so all comments are based on this. Throws are much shorter and more precise. The first few gears give you a nice 'klack' as you slam them home...the upper gear shifts are quieter. 3rd gear is still a notchy one, but that comes with the transmission BMW chose.

I enjoy driving the car so much more. The ZCP knob and new boot was also amazing just by itself. I don't know what BMW was thinking with the stock knob/boot all-in-one design.

First, I was not happy with the fitiment. I had a professional and highly rated shop do this install as I heard it could be problematic. I choose Foreign Affairs Motorsports out of Pompano Beach.

They had to shave the DSSR gromments slightly, it wasn't going to fit. The part was the correct one for my model. It wasn't a 'close tolerance' issue, it was no go. It only took a little bit though and they said it should not cause any issue.