BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not that big of a deal but i would like to have it fixed if it is DIYable or cheap. I have a 1999 328i sedan (pre-facelift) if that helps.

The button on the key still works its just the button under the dash that doesnt work.
Nothing else is wrong with the car

Could it be a fuse? or a loose connection? Im not good at all with electrical so I have no idea.
Help would be appreciated

·
Registered
7,987 Posts
Not that big of a deal but i would like to have it fixed if it is DIYable or cheap. I have a 1999 328i sedan (pre-facelift) if that helps.

The button on the key still works its just the button under the dash that doesnt work.
Nothing else is wrong with the car

Could it be a fuse? or a loose connection? Im not good at all with electrical so I have no idea.
Help would be appreciated
Is the key hole on your trunk horizontal? If it is, rotate it counter-clockwise so that it's vertical. Button should work fine then.

·
Registered
1,901 Posts
Dude, your trunk is double locked. If the slot in the keyhole on your trunk lid is horizontal then you can't open the trunk with the button under the dash. Its a security feature. Stick your key in there and turn it counter clockwise and remove key before trying the button again. Let me know if that helps :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,603 Posts
first check if your trunk is in valet mode (horizontal). if not, then perhaps the plug which connects to the key cylinder in the trunk got loose. if that is not connected, the key fob and push button on the trunk handle will still work.. but the button under the dash will not.

·
Registered
2,572 Posts
Im curious, where is the button under your dash?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Im curious, where is the button under your dash?
It's on the driver side near the door (kinda by hood release lever)