E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
TWC 2008
2,587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay guys I remember seeing a thread a while back about using a toothpick instead of the touch up paint brush to get rid of rock chips. I still can't seem to find it again. I searched but can't find it anymore. Anyone have that link?

If not can anyone give me some good suggestions to using the dealer touch up paint and clear coat? I've never used this stuff before and would like to hear some good tips before i use it so i don't mess up my paint. Thanks guys :thumbup:

·
Registered
485 Posts
The toothpick scenerio is pretty much correct. Use a toothpick or something very fine to fill in the scratch or chip...go slowly let the paint dry before adding another layer. fill in the defect until the paint is just above the surface of the surrounding paint on the vehicle...so somewhat overfill the defect with paint. use 2000 grit to wetsand the area down to the same height of the surrounding paint...yes you'll sand some of the surrounding area as well. The paint in this area will then be dull...don't freak out you'd have to work for a very long time to actually sand through the surrounding clear coat. Then begin to polish the area with deminishing abvasive polishes (start out fairly agressive and finally get to a fine finishing polish...I'd recommend Poorboys SSR2.5 followed by Poorboys SSR1) This can be done by hand but it's a tedious job...if you know someone with a Porter Cable or other random orbital buffer ask them if you can borrow it for a day. Once the polishing is done apply some sort of protection to the area and you should be good to go.

For better instructions go to www.autopia.org...search for wetsanding or defect repair and you'll probably find a tutorial with pictures and everything.

Andy

·
Registered
2,158 Posts
Audi... you always got all the detailing skills down..