BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to time-sert my block. So just wandering how many people out there have done this successfully. If you have had any problems since, also how long its been going.

·
Registered
26,431 Posts
I have to time-sert my block. So just wandering how many people out there have done this successfully. If you have had any problems since, also how long its been going.
You maybe should change your title to "time-sert block?" and you might get more responses.

So, you overheated and couldn't tighten down the cylinder head? I presume you know block is flat and straight?

I've watched this being done, but have also read opinions here that our block is susceptible to warping...and at the point that the head pulls threads out of block, it's been through a bit...use lots of lubricant and good luck! (I'm not a mechanic...I just read and watch a lot!)

·
Registered
5,018 Posts
I have done alot of them :) You need the special jig to ensure a perfectly centered hole. If you try to drill by eye and get a hole off its all over.

Take your time and go slow with the right tools its not that bad takes 3-4 hours to do the whole block.

YOU MUST MAKE SURE THE BLOCK IS NOT WARPED.

·
Registered
5,018 Posts
two threads??????

·
Registered
26,431 Posts
two threads??????
No, you need at least five or six if you want to hold torque! :lmao:

OP, it's okay for you to bump your thread up to the top...best to collect all your answers in one place!

BTW, JB is someone I'm sure you can trust. Not me; you can't trust me...but trust me when I say JB knows his stuff.

I'd say the jig, whatever it costs, would be a decent investment or rental purchase.

Interesting idea about just drilling for larger bolt!

·
Registered
5,018 Posts