E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,463 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thought I'd share my E46 experience for the fanatics here. I bought the car in January 2006 right after I finished my MSc degree. Given the fact that taxes to import a car here are so high, I was limited to the 2.2L engine. 2.2 was the absolute limit since over 2.5L, taxes grew exponentially per cc. To import an M3 or 330 for example would cost over $70000. Long story short, a car dealer found me a "pristine" condition E46 in Topaz Blue with 1 year warranty as well. I went ahead and ordered the car and his mechanic went through a thorough check (mistake #1). Happy that I got a nice car. This is how the car looked the first day I got it