E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My car is a 2000 E46 4 door with factory radio. I saw this sharkfin antenna on a newer E46 model, and wanted someone to tell me if this antenna is strictly for navigation, Sat radio, or what? I know my car has the radio antenna box connected to the wires in the rear window, so I am assuming that is for normal AM/FM radio reception.

I'm new to the E46 world, and am in the process of updating and modernizing the car, fixing what is worn out, and making it a nice daily driver.

Glad to be here, and thanks for your advice and suggestions.

Steve

Attachments

·
OEM ///PLUS
2003 M3 6MT Slicktop
23,811 Posts
if you have a 2000 then you have the "bee stinger" antenna on your roof. that as you suspected was not used for your radio. it was pre-wired for the navigation and maybe even a phone. Shark fin the same, not for the radio. so you'll find many people remove the "Shark Fin" if not in use since it's just adhered by tape.
BUT..the Bee Stinger has a hole in roof that it goes through and locked in by a nut underneath. But to answer your question it's not for the radio. the radio antenna is on the rear window glass.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Alex. Yes, the Bee stringer is present on mine. Since I don't have factory navigation or anything like that, I may just remove the bee stinger antenna, and install a shark fin with an XM satellite antenna or something like that in its place and seal up the hole. Unless someone else has a better idea?

·
Registered
14 Posts
I'm interested in finding out how this works out for you OP. I'm not liking the bee stinger anthena I have. Want to put on the Shark fin but I don't want to get bad reception as I only listen to the radio.

·
Registered
1,570 Posts