E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so I was re installing my Vanos system after changing out all the gaskets and the worst thing possible could have happened. I grabbed the wrong sized torx head for the reverse threaded bolts and stripped my bolt. in an effort to get it out I used a drill and a larger torx bolt, (yes I know im an idiot) and I think I cut a bit of metal out from underneath the bolt? its in-between the bolt and the rubber piece that slides in, im not exactly sure if it will still be in-between when I put the rubber back in (its my first time) and im wondering if this will impact my Vanos in anyway or if I got extremely lucky and its outside of where the oil flows. also if any of you guys have fix recommendations that don't involve buying a new one that would be greatly appreciated. thanks guys.
Liquid Fluid Automotive tire Water Automotive wheel system

·
Registered
7,618 Posts
I think I cut a bit of metal out from underneath the bolt? its in-between the bolt and the rubber piece that slides in,
The bolt is to hold the piston to the spline hub, so there should be no rubber piece under the bolt. There is a brown plastic cap above the bolt but it sure was removed when you torqued the bolt. So I have no idea what rubber piece you're talking. You stripped it while tightening or loosening?

·
Registered
2005 330ci
173 Posts
Did you get the screw out or is it as is in the picture? It’s not torqued down by much, so I would think you could use an EZ out to get it removed. You may need to find the right size or even grind one down to fit, because the screw head is so shallow.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·