BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What speakers can I put in my 323 coupe to replace the stock speakers. I am keeping the headunit and amps stock. How would the new componets be installed (crossovers etc...?) Does the stock BMW amp have it own built in crossover?

Thanks

·
Registered
179 Posts
if you change the stock speakers, you should change the amps too. The stock speakers can actually handle more power than the stock amp provides, I ran them for a week or two off an alpine f540 and they sounded better than stock.

·
Registered
100 Posts
pimpinCi,

If you change the stock speakers, you may not have to change the amp, but you do run into a few issues. I have a 2000 328Ci so we probably have a similar setup. I am just getting started and have put Boston Accoustic Pros in the doors..... but I am not done yet.

1. The none HK BMW system has three separates, woofer, mid and tweeter, most after markets contain two separater a driver and a tweet.
2. Three to Two wouldn't be an issue if.... you could get a full signal to tap the new crossovers into. But, the crossovers are internal to the amp, thus NYCM3's comment, and for a little more money probably the easiest thing to do.
3. Supposedly the mid has no upper crossover point and uses natural roll off of the mid, so you can use this to drive the tweeter, and leave the factory feed to the tweeter disconnected. If this is true, then you have a full spectrum sound going to the new seperates and you are all set. I have yet to confirm this as the factory cross over point may be too low and therefore damage the new tweeter. I am trying to find the crossover points to the factory system, but as of yet no avail.