E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Air bags, or coilovers?

I have no experience with airbags as I prefer they remain in the Veedub scene :p but since I got my 328Ci in Jan 2006 I've had well over 30 sets of wheels and a lot of different coilovers (ST V1, KW V2/V3/Clubsports, TCK D/A, GC, Motons, Bilstein PSS10(dont recommend), FK 4300, JRZ RS and the current and FAR AND AWAY best are the JRZ RS-Pro; not a complete list).

Even aggressive offsets on 8.5/9.5 can be tricky, and coupes fit bigger wheels more easily IME.

I was unable to fit 18x9et22 and 18x10et18 even with perfectly rolled fenders pulled as far as possible. It wasn't until I actually had my fenders flared (cut, pulled, shaped, new metal welded in, etc) that I could fit them properly (the widest set I've tried since are 19x10.5et25 and 19x11et12 wrapped with PSS 265's/275's and running mildish camber of -2.3f and -2.1r).
I would strongly advise getting a set of Turner's adjustable rear control arms.
Less important but still a good idea are front camber plates, but from experience DO NOT SKIMP! It may cost $350-450, but there are some things that you just don't want to get from the bargain bin. Vorschlag has been consistently good, having gone from Stg1 to 2 to 3 etc, but haven't bought any in a few years.