E46 Fanatics Forum banner

Should I do rod bearings or not?

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,
This is my first post and I’m a new proud owner of e46 m3. This is my first m3.
Looking forward to chat with you all and learn. I'm a noob. Please excuse me for the long message.

Car info-
e46 M3 - Blue on Imola Coupe
Current Mileage - 55500
2003-March production.
Smg to Manual swap done by previous owner.
Rear Sub frames done.
Vanos not done and the shop that did PPI said we can wait till 80-100 k.
Currently there are no issues.

Background -
I’m the 4th owner. As per the previous owner car has not been to track or pushed really hard. 3rd owner who owned the car for 14 years was an old person and had maintained the car really well I’m told.
Car had 54400 miles when I bought. The previous owner bought the car at 52700. So he only drove under 2000 miles and sold it to me.The previous owner did black stone when he bought the car. He mentioned that his Blackstone report had very less copper and lead when I asked about rod bearings health. He said not to worry about rod bearings. Also, he couldn’t find the report so I had to take his word. When I bought the car I changed the oil and sent the old oil to black stone.

Meanwhile, I came to know that bmw dealer would be able to tell if the car had recall done. I called the dealer where the car was initially sold and serviced. To my favor, dealer said rod bearings re call was done on this car.

Now,
I got my black stone report. Copper is 10 and lead is 11. I have attached the report.

Black stone Summary :