E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
this is my first time posting a thread on this forum even though I have been reading for years. I recently noticed an oil leak coming from the right side of the engine block, where the oil filter housing is located. I made sure it was oil and not power steering fluid. I read all the DIY's i could find for a housing gasket replacement and decided that i needed to replace the Oil Filter Housing gasket. I have done this job 3 times because oil kept on leaking from the same area. I would also clean the engine block thoroughly to make it easy to identify future leaks. I thought maybe i somehow screwed up the job. However the third time i replaced the gasket i made 100% sure the gasket is in its correct place and i tightened all 6 bolts really tight, maybe too tight?idk . The last time i replaced the gasket (2 weeks ago) I checked for leaks on daily basis for about a week. It never leaked so i stopped checking and was very happy. Then yesterday i checked for leaks and it was STILL leaking (this was after i drove kinda hard reaching higher rpms) . I checked the freeze plugs, those are good......no power steering leaks. What am i doing wrong? Is it possible the housing is warped?
She has 118xxx and is 2001 model.
Thanks for all ur help

·
Registered
5,861 Posts
Did you check the Valve Cover Gasket (VCG)? That usually leaks on or towards the right side/passenger side of the engine bay.

The Oil Filter Housing Gasket (OFHG) leaks towards the center front (or center center) of the engine bay. In my car that is where it leaks and splashes around onto everything at the bottom of the engine bay.

Power Steering Fluid on the other hand leaks on the driver's side of the engine bay.