BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to know two simple things. Average cost in maintaining the car and avg mpg. I'm either going with an e46 M3 or the 03/04 Cobra. I appreciate your responses.

·
Registered
18 Posts
$0 maintenance cost to 50,000 miles. DIY after that is the same as any other high performace car.

23mpg average normal driving.
28mpg from Key Largo to Palm Beach 70mph steady.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
unfortunately the cars price that I am looking for is the 01-03 and they all have more then 50k miles. So changing the oil is not a pita? I really don't know what the car looks like deep under the hood. I heard that M3's use a different oil? How much is actually spent on maintaining the car? I am a driver that enjoys driving the car. I will track the car as well, open track not 1/4. How much do tires cost, least to most expensive? When would you change your spark plugs? The gas mileage looks great to me. My 01 cobra was getting a little less then 16 mpg, however it was fun.

·
Banned
103 Posts
my 03 has 24k miles. My friend has the 03 cobra with a kb blower. He can pretty much eat everything on the streets. I love the sound of that kb whine. The M3 is going to cost you for minor repairs. I was quoted 425.00 just to get my weather strip replaced which is a defect. It all boils down what you want in a car. As far as power/speed with bigger fuel injectors, kb blower, and no cats can get you about 750 to the crank with the right tune. Total cost about 7k and on a m3 to see those numbers you will have to spend about 20k. The M3 is balanced. Luxury and sporty. Here is a few clips of my friend's cobra. Buy the corba dude.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoBZ3PwSRXc

·
Registered
192 Posts
Whoa too many questions, and most can searched.