BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car had a check engine light for about 12 hours.... the car drove fine with the CEL, but right before the CEL it felt like stalling and I was just standing in my driveway in N.

Anyway, after driving around some, the CEL just went away... maybe after driving 100 miles. I still got the car scanned at Advance Auto Parts because I know that the codes are stored... and it came up with this (only 1, thank God):

P0206
Injector Circuit
Open
Cylinder 6

So what does it mean exactly? and what could have caused it and how can I fix it (how much $?)

I'm not too worried, it seems like a minor fix, but since I am new to E46 I just want to be sure.

Oh btw, I did search... maybe I didnt search enough so I created a new thread.

·
Registered
5,018 Posts
Otherwise know as Crapy scanner syndrome its more than likely a misfire and that cheap scanner pulled the code wrong

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So maybe just cyl 6 misfire?

·
Registered
5,018 Posts
That would be my guess

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah I know... I come from a VW background, and the Peake Tool equivalent is a VAGCOM lol...
I'll def look into that in the future, thanks.

Anyway, the CEL went away, so maybe its not that big of a deal. Maybe I'll look into changing the ignition coils....
Does each cylinder have its own coil?

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
Discussion Starter #8