BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, I’m making an oil temp sensor since non- M’s can’t get it easily.

I’ll update y’all when it is done.

I have a 125 degree C temp probe, an arduino and an lcd unit. I’ll run the probe to the side of the oil pan, jb weld it then correlate the temps to inpa to correct for error.

Then we will know when I can rip it to 7k rpm.

I also included drive time. Since I had space on the display. Where should I put the display?

I’m thinking cig lighter console so that it can be completely hidden if need be.
IMG_3735.JPG

Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app

·
Registered
2004 330CI ZHP
163 Posts
In for updates, I'd like to see your implementation.

For my solution, I bought a module from Germany that pulls oil temp from the oil level sensor, like in the M3s. But it's probably a lot more than what your whole setup costs, since it was ~130 Euros.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Right, I’m going to use INPA to gauge correct my sensor.

I didn’t want an app or some device that costs a lot. >50 bucks.

If it fails maybe I’ll buy Carly

Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ah ok, thank you!

If someone has found a way to display via mpg gauge or some other method it would be great.

Non obd preferred since I tend to kick them out on accident.

·
Here to serve y’all
2004 330Ci 85k miles
11,596 Posts
I think the blue bus device could get to it.

·
Registered
2004 330CI ZHP
163 Posts
Is that really true? I knew about triple-blink, but not other features aside from audio/phone.

If the BlueBus can get to oil temp, then that would be reason enough for me to consider purchasing it. My little German device also does water temp, battery voltage, and vehicle speed, but I don't really need those.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Is that really true? I knew about triple-blink, but not other features aside from audio/phone.