E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi - I'm scratching my head over this one. I've got a 2003 325i with 121K miles.
Yesterday when driving down the highway, the car started losing power erratic cutting in and out.
Eventually died and could not be restarted - cranks but doesn't start. Codes were P0102 and transmission gear light, but seemed like a fuel starvation issue.
Today, I pulled the rear seat and there was no pump priming sound from the fuel pump.
So, I replaced the fuel pump (half hour job) and now it primes as normal for about 3 seconds when I turn the key on.
I expected that would fix it and the vehicle would just start normally...but again it just cranks and doesn't start.
Next, I checked the fuel rail pressure ---and it's ZERO...not just low...but zero. Clearly a fuel issue.
I've had to stop working for the night because I'm a street mechanic.

The fuel gauge reads a bit less than 1/4 tank. Instrument cluster OBC test 6.0 reads 028088 (left side tank 2.8L, right side tank 8.8L, which is about what I'd expect).
Other notes: I replaced the fuel filter at 111K miles (only 10K miles ago) and previously replaced the fuel pump was in 2014 (hard failure no prime situation)..
One comment I read is that the fuel tank need to be more than 1/4 full after replacing the fuel pump...perhaps it's not self-priming? And just to add some gas. Too late to try that tonight.

I'd really appreciate any thoughts on what the problem might be.

·
Super Moderator
'03 325iT Mystic Blau
5,742 Posts
The pump motor primes just fine. That pretty much eliminates the relay as a problem unless I'm missing something.
Like fuel pressure? Lol

Seriously, I once had a Ford fuel pump relay partially fail so that it was only passing ~7VDC. It would run a brand new pump seemingly fine for a while until it just wouldn't anymore. I replaced so many pumps that were probably just fine on that car.