BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the family. I have some questions on Mercedes and BMW's. I've seen there's owners of both and I'm sure plenty of you who have driven both. The question easily put is, how do they compare?

Digging deeper I've always been a fan of driving. At the red light I've always been the one to see if someone wanted to race, even if I got waxed. My love for driving has grown to just simply getting up in the middle of the night to drive. I just find it so relaxing and so free. Nothing better than hitting the freeway in the middle of the night and having at it.

The cars I truly were interested in were the Acura TL and TSX (2004+ models), Lexus IS300, BMW X3, Dodge Charger r/t and Mustang GT 2005. The Acura's are nice and save, dependable as well but they lack the power I want for the price I can pay. IS300 are ok but not me (I love the 2006 models). Mustang and Charger are still in the back of my mind but the ones who prevail overall are is the Mercedes E500 and BMW 330i.

I know it may be a bit odd comparing the two but the Mercedes C-class is a little too toned down for me compared the the E-class. I'm not to overly fond of the 5-series, but the 3-series (more importantly the 330i) does wonders for me. The Audi A4 is nice as well.

In my price range the 2004 Mercedes E500 and 2005 BMW 330i (e46) are at the top of my list. I've heard wonderful things about both cars and equally negative things, 90% being maintenance issues.

I'm guessing my question in the end is money vs mileage.

I've read a lot of posts on here about maintenance. In my price range the lowest mileage is 80k and highest around 135k. Is a 110k Mercedes better than a 80k Mercedes? Let's say the 80k Mercedes hasn't had it's next major service but the 110k Mercedes has had it's major service, which would be the better buy (This is me not knowing about the scheduled services due at what mileage haha)?