E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've searched all afternoon for a DIY, but can't seem to find what I need. I've never messed with wiring before, so this is my first time.

I have the SmartTire remote monitor tucked into the ashtray, but need to tap a power source. This system gets power from the cigarette lighter and has an auto off function. However, I want this to shut off when the car is off, and turn on when the car is on. Any help is really appreciated. TIA

·
Bimmerfest Co-Founder
7,683 Posts
you could do it this way if you can't figure anything better

http://www.csua.berkeley.edu/~lleong/vdo_install/final_wiring/index.html

But I would recommend finding an existing connector as that is sort of lame. Isn't the cig lighter switched? I think that is where I hooked up my gauges. Sorry I don't remember but there are a ton of un-used connectors in that area so if the cig lighter is not switched then use a multi-meter to test. I would recommend using a pin, push it into the end of the connector and then hook the multi-meter to that.

It is really easy.

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Nick

Yah it's worth it. Especially if you're on the road a lot. Check out this link, if you haven't already. Notice the alerts that display. Super easy to program!
NickACS said:
Was thinking about getting this unit with my new rims this week..

Wondering if its worth it? :)

·
Registered
3,607 Posts
Re: Nick

toddv said:
Yah it's worth it. Especially if you're on the road a lot. Check out this link, if you haven't already. Notice the alerts that display. Super easy to program!
Nice..thanks..
Is it possible to fit the Full Remote Display in the ashtray next to the cig lighter? That's the only place where I would think of putting it...TIA :)

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Nick