BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm a Bimmer noob and I know this is a noob post, but I didn't find any other thread that's exactly like it.

Here's my situation. I drive a 2000 Mercedes S430, passed down to me from my father a few years back, and it's been the most unreliable piece of crap I have ever driven. After dumping money on repairs and maintenance on it, I want to get rid of it this summer, even if it's worth nothing at all (I think things are starting to break again).

I have about $10k to spare, more or less, so before buying a Toyota or Honda, I want to see if I can get away with staying German. It's gonna be a daily, so reliability is priority.

So far, I've done some research, and it appears that 6-cyl (M52s?) E46s and E39s are the most reliable Bimmers within this budget, and even then, BMWs require a lot of maintenance. Can you guys provide some feedback on this?

I also prefer manual transmission, but I will go for whatever is more reliable/costs less to maintain. I'm a DIYer. The only thing that gives me nightmares are intense costs of parts.

·
Registered
9,665 Posts
Well, If you want reliable then you get a toyota or honda like you said, Or a lexus for more luxury. No German car is going to be comparable to Japanese car's, The most reliable will probably be a 325, 2002+, Manual transmission, and make sure you get it with warantee.

·
Registered
2,923 Posts
I'd say stay away from early model E46's and shoot for 2002+ 330i and def get it with manual, due to it being more reliable and more fun to drive

·
Registered
15 Posts