BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Firstly I want to say that I am a huge fan of this site. The e46 BMW is one of my all time favorite cars and I'm on my third such car, but it is my first time owning a M3. It is also my first time with the SMG transmission and lets just say I'm getting used to it.

I've only owned the car for a few days. I bought it from an independent seller at a very low price. I noticed a few times when test driving it (I started and stopped the car a bunch in the test drive) that it didn't always want to start at the first turn of the key. I knew a little about the oddities of starting the SMG (brake pedal fully depressed, make sure it is in neutral, etc.) so I just chalked it up to my inexperience with the car. Well two days into my ownership I went to start it, and no matter how hard I tried it would not start.

I replaced the salmon relay and started to poke at the EWS (I have an AK90+), but I thought to myself I ought to try bump starting it to see what would happen. I wasn't sure that the computers would let me engage first gear without having "started" the car, but they did and much to my pleasure the car started up and the engine ran just fine. Now I drove it a little ways and noticed that gears did not want to engage after having been started this way. Not only that, but the gear indicator in the instrument cluster does not stop flashing. When I pulled up to one red light, I could not get the car to go in gear (it was as if I was standing on the clutch pedal). From the traffic light, I had to give the car a push to get it moving again and shortly afterwards first gear engaged.