BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Banned
2,693 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey i tried messing around with Lighting and shutter speeds. I'll number the picture this time and please comment on how to make the pictures better.

On the "panning" shots all the pics I took usually only focused a half to two thirds of the car. I took a lot of shots and none of them focused the whole car? Do I need to stand farther back or something?

This is my first time using artificial lighting during the night time. Those are the pictures of the bikes.

Thrown in there are some shots that I thought turned out good except for the missing front bumper that got ripped off. Fixing that today!

the best panning shot

shutter speed

too dark?

too much editing on the clouds?

too dark?

thought this kinda looked cool

artificial light

artificial light

artificial light

·
Ironman
01 330iT 6MT, 98 M Roadster
5,058 Posts
Okay.....

Still twice as many shots as you should post if you want some quality feedback, but....

Regarding "focus" for panning shots: The car is moving. Therefore the focus will change as it moves. Don't expect to do panning shots and have 100% focus. There are things that affect this. For example, if you use a longer lens, the car will not have as much angular movement so the focus will be more consistent throughout the exposure. You are moving the camera and using a slow shutter speed, so YOU are affecting the focus, but the reduction is sharpness is due to motion, not focus.

#1 looks good, but keep your horizon level (or crop it to be so). Looks like you still need some color correction as well as light/contrast adjustment, but this is much better than anything I've seen you post in the past.