E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, been a long time consumer/lurker but this is my first time posting.

I've got an e46 compact (325ti) and I love it, save for one annoying recurring issue. The left side fuel level sender keeps snapping and killing my fuel gauge. I've had the car for just over a year and already replaced it twice (once secondhand eBay, once genuine new BMW) but it keeps snapping in the same place. I'm a bit lost as the part is hard to come by and not cheap. This latest one last 4 months.

Is there something I should be concerned about considering how often I've had to replace it?

Recipe Gas stove Liquid Kitchen utensil Frying pan

·
Premium Member
4,500 Posts
Genuine BMW shouldn't do that.
Hell, even URO shouldn't do that.

And that's a really odd fault. As in, 'they don't do that'.
Except that yours did.

Are you sure the part number is right for the compact?
I have the previous gen, and lots of parts for the
different body style have been 'superseded' to the
sedan- and don't quite work.

Otherwise, I'd be looking for something mechanical in the
way the sender seats into the tank. Perhaps even
too- short wires that are stressing the sender?
There shouldn't be ANYTHING going on that can
break that ceramic- the stuff's pretty tough against all
comers- except impact.

You don't have a sea mine in your fuel tank, do you?

heh

t
would LOVE an E46 B30 compact...
...but the Yoo Ess didn't get 'em. Too cool
The cars, that is.

·
Premium Member
5,552 Posts
I agree with the above. As long as you're sure it's the correct part, something is not right with the fitment I to the tank. Maybe it's not seating in a notch correctly, maybe a piece of an old one is stuck, or maybe the tank is deformed.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the replies!

I can't be 100% certain, but I'm pretty sure there isn't a land mine in there! Hahahaha!