E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as you have read, I just bought a pair of OEM Bi-Xenons from a fellow forum member at bimmerforums. Now this is my first time looking into it so I just want to make sure I got it right after the all the research I cramped into my head after I saw the ad.

Link to the ad thread

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1842000

1-They should be "plug and Play" concerning the wiring. Now this ones I bought have the self-leveling feature, which I guess takes more work to them to work properly (I could work on that later but for now I can rock them like regular Xenons correct????

2-Need to program them to work with my car (I know someone that might be able to help me) which I have seen the software GT1 and seemed as easy as choosing the retrofit option and choosing Xenons...

3-Would the HIDs right away?- which seem to be assembled with the headlight also work with the regular plugs from my halogens or will I need to extra wiring for the HIDs to work?

I might be missing questions right now but I want to make sure I get all I need ready so when these bad boys arrive I can plug them, go to buddies house, and rock them like there is no tomorrow!!

Thanks guys!!

·
Registered
810 Posts
I am kind of in the same boat, from whay i figured its plug and play the only issue is that we need to get our cars coded for those. So my question is, are there any aftermarket HID kits that wont require coding????

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
how hard is to do the bixenon wiring? anyone here done it and has any tips with it..I have seen a few DIYs and it looks a bit tricky..I am good with some mechanical DIYs but this would be my first electrical DIY

·
Registered
134 Posts
I chose not to do it. It looked too in depth for me and I knew I would mess up the wiring so I skipped it.