E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this question may sound odd/stupid, but is viscous fan(fan clutch) standard on all BMW M52 engines? My e46 has m52b25tu(323ci) and today I saw another M52 engine, but this one had a fan attached to the water pump pulley and had a fan shroud(idk if "shroud" correct), which mine doesnt(both a fan and a shroud). I have the threads on my pulley and I've been driving it for more than 2 years, it never overheated, always stays ot 92-93 degrees celsius(198-200 fahrenheit), even though the summers here are kinda hot. I didnt find any info about this topic anywhere and I am sorry if it was asked.

·
Super Moderator
'03 325iT Mystic Blau
5,206 Posts
So this question may sound odd/stupid, but is viscous fan(fan clutch) standard on all BMW M52 engines? My e46 has m52b25tu(323ci) and today I saw another M52 engine, but this one had a fan attached to the water pump pulley and had a fan shroud(idk if "shroud" correct), which mine doesnt(both a fan and a shroud). I have the threads on my pulley and I've been driving it for more than 2 years, it never overheated, always stays ot 92-93 degrees celsius(198-200 fahrenheit), even though the summers here are kinda hot. I didnt find any info about this topic anywhere and I am sorry if it was asked.
All the E46s here in the US got a water pump driven fan clutch in addition to an electric auxilliary fan if automatic trans, and puller electric fan only if manual trans. Not sure if that also applies to the other models offered world wide.

·
Registered
E30M3 Race F10 535 R1150Rt M Coupe
7,476 Posts
Manual should have an electric puller fan.

·
Administrator
2004 330Ci 115k miles
16,756 Posts
A few clarifications:
  • E46 never got the M52 engine, the 323/328 got the M52TU, which is quite different (I updated the thread title)
  • Look up your E46 parts on realoem.com, it will show what your car came with

·
Registered
3,490 Posts