BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I am new to e46 forums, and unfortunately my first post is a problematic one. I should have said Hello! first and then this wouldn't seem so sour :) I'm having trouble with my 00' 328i. Purchased it used with 104k miles about a month ago. It has an aftermarket battery in it currently (Duralast 49L I believe). 2 weeks after purchasing it, I went to start it in the morning and it was dead. In turning the key to the 1 and 2 position, the lights and electronics in the car worked, when turning it to the ON position, I heard a Click click click click sound. I tried only once or twice more, and got the same kind of sound, but stopped trying to avoid any damage. I jumped it with my roommates car and started up fine after about 2-3 minutes of charging (She has a hybrid, and I think I might have used her smaller battery to do this which might be why it took 2-3 minutes). I didn't think anything of this, just thought perhaps I left a light on or something and that's why it died. After jumping it and driving around the block, I turned off the engine and checked the voltage of the battery with my multimeter and got a 12.1V reading. I thought that was that.