E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the workings of an e46. I've owned this car about a month and a half and I'm still figuring out its 'quirks.'

Two days ago I powered into a turn on a cold engine (just leaving work). Everything was fine until about the end of 3rd gear when the transmission hesitated, the RPMs climbed like it slipped into neutral for a second then dropped heavy into 4th. After that, I got a warning light (exclamation point inside gear on instrument panel) and the car never seemed to drop out of 3rd even at a complete stop. This obviously made accelerating from a stop super weak and the car sounded like crap. My commute is about 10 minutes and once home, I shut it down, started it back up and everything was back to normal. No lights, no problems shifting. I've been careful to the let the engine get to operating temp before getting on it and so far I've had no issues. I have no warning light to check for codes, just concerned for problems down the road. Any thoughts?

It's a 2003 330i ZHP automatic with 124k. Only engine mods to my knowledge are ZHP cam and cone filter intake. Low coolant light comes on when the heat is running but I have to believe that's unrelated, just thought I'd mention it. Any help is appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
126 Posts
The shifting you described there is called "Shift Flare." It is very common on Volvos and is your gears slipping between gear changes. I would suggest changing out your fluid and filter and seeing if that helps. I did that 5 times on my 2003 325i with a ZF 5HP19 transmission and have had no issues since. I'm also pretty sure that limp mode defaults the car into fifth gear rather than third. Did you get a check engine light when this happened? It would be helpful if you could get your TCM scanned for error codes with INPA. A code like 53 or 54 on INPA would mean 3rd or 4th gear slippage.

·
Registered
3 Posts