BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so disclaimer first. I have no experience whatsoever with car audio. I can however follow basic instructions (although my wife might disagree).

I just purchased an Infinity basslink for install into my 330ci. The car does not have the HK system. It is all stock, including the headunit (a 2001 model).

I have done several searches but everything I find is for install into the HK system. This is a USA model car so there is a factory amp in the trunk. I have a few basic questions for anyone willing to help:

1. What do I need to buy to complete this install. I had looked for an install kit but I can't find one anywhere. I am assuming I can buy everything I need at radio shack or another electronic retailer. Could someone please provide me with a list??

2. How do I do it? What is the easiest method? I had planned on mounting the sub in front of the ski-pass facing backwards. So I am looking for the easiest and cleanest install method. Can I just tap into the inputs going into the mid-basses mounted into the rear deck for my signal? And then add the power? Does that still require a remote on/off switch?

Little bit daunted.

Help greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Bumpity bump.....Come on peeps. Someone must be willing to help!

·
Registered
91 Posts
I am actually going about the same route in my 01 325 non-hk system. Although I haven't done any searches here on this forum, I've done this setup in other cars so I would think it'll be similar. Here's what I'm planning to do.

1. Get a Line Out Converter or HiLo Converter, T-taps, and RCA cables - You can get this at Fry's, maybe Radioshack, etc. Call around
2. Splice the signal wires into the rear speakers with T-taps. I believe you can also splice into the signal wires from the stock amp as well.