E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not a mechanic. Far from it. I'm hearing anecdotes that XIs have higher CV boot failure rates. Is this true, and if so why? I wonder if lower with spring and stiff shocks will lead to higher CV boot failure. Anyone more technically inclined in the know?

·
Registered
5,651 Posts
no. its just the rubber boots going bad then ignored. water and sand got in breaking the CV joints.
usually if its just start to tear, and you catch it on time to regrease and repack, it will last for a long time.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
Sir, you have presented a question where what you will receive will be ambiguous answers at best. I have followed this mystery for a couple years and would conclude, when lowered - results may vary. There are many variables here. First, any CV's, in any car, will wear from use and mileage. Our XI's don't necessarily have a weak component but like others, should the boot rip or clamps loosen, the lubricating fluid seeps or actually slings out causing the joint to run dry and fail. Boots being thin material that flex and stretch have a limited lifetime. Keeping an eye on boot condition is recommended for all CV cars.

When the car is lowered, the drive position of the axle changes from a slight downward angle to horizontal or slight upward position. Some will contend this is the CV killer as not the factory engineered "normal" angle. I would suggest this is questionable as when the angle changes, it still remains within the normal operating range of motion. Think of driving over bumps where the axles are pushed upward into the "lowered" position and then return to the normal drive angle. CV's don't operate constantly in one position, they are designed to work in a range of axle motion. If not, we should avoid hitting bumps.