E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I need to change the clutch kit. I have some technical background in BMWs. I maintain my car by myself, I change disks, pads and so on.

I will be more than happy if any of you explain the steps how to change the clutch kit.

I should lift the car up from right and left front, remove the bolts between the transmission and the engine and change the clutch kit from the middle.

1- Should I loosen the axels, if so, front axels or rear axels?
2- Should I release the transmission oil out?

If any of you know the steps can you please write me the all steps?

I have a secure garage, 3 jacks and 2 safe steel car holders.

Look forward to hear for an answer...

Cheers all.

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you, I know that link and it does not answer to my questions.

I would rather get answers for these 2 questions, and know the exact steps while changing the clutch from a member here.

·
Registered
775 Posts
Disclaimer: I've never changed a clutch, but these tips. might help.

• Use 4 jack stands (car supports) or a lift. Using only two supports makes it hard to get the transmission out.
  • You need female torx (E-torx) sockets and 3/8" extensions, maybe 2 or 3 long extensions. Do NOT round off the torx bolts! (Make sure socket is right size and fully seated on each bolt before applying removal torque.)
  • Might need one or two 18mm combo wrenches to disconnect driveshaft/guibo. Unless it's 17mm or 16mm on your car.
  • Need to drop exhaust and disconnect driveshaft from transmission.
  • Disconnect shifter linkage, clutch slave, and electrical plug from tranny.
  • Do not disconnect rear driveaxles. Front doesn't have driveaxles unless you have an AWD (xi) model.
  • If on lift, suspend disconnected driveshaft with wire