E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
657 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Are 160K miles on a 330i a lot if the car was taken care of?
We sold our highest miler with a 162K miles, so I have no experience with what will/could happen next???

sacramento.craigslist.org/cto/d/2003-bmw-330ci/6500266925.html

·
Registered
75 Posts
I've got 190k. Still runs fine, starts up the first time, gets me to my destinations just fine. Most likely keeping until the engine gives up, or the fuel pump/filter since I have a SULEV 325i.

Sent from my Pixel XL

·
Registered
5 Posts
2004 ZHP automatic is at 142K, still pushing super hard.....plenty preventative maintenance to get to this point. I also just picked up a 2002 325i 5 speed manual is at 120K, still pushing on. I just did 1,500$ in maintenance (all parts), I did all the labor. I just purchased this neglected vehicle for 1K, nil to no damage on body panels. The key is maintenance, with these bullet proof motor's, if you have to think about a part more than twice, replace it. Always trust your first judgement. This is my 5th e46, so plenty of knowledgable about this certain platform.

·
Registered
657 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
So, other than tks THROW IT AWAY comment, it appears to me that you guys would therefore not shy away from this high mileage car?

Looks super clean in the pictures, seller would let me have it for 4K.
As I mentioned, we sold our last 330i with 162k miles on clock ad it was still going VERY STRONG, but was always properly maintained.

·
Premium Member
28,908 Posts
Search the user kburger, he has 625,000 on his E46 as I recall.

I have personally seen a number of E46 with over 300,000 miles.

It is all about how you take care of the car and drive is. If you want to hit redline at every freeway entrance and drive the car like you stole it, clearly it will not last as long compared to if you just drive the car with an occasional heavy foot.