E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, all.

I'm fairly new to working on my car. Things have been going pretty well, so far, which has been encouraging. Today, however, I seem to have done something really bad. It could very well be one small thing that can be easily fixed, but this has been a super discouraging day! I'm hoping someone can help, because now my car won't go. It idles fine, lights and all electrical things seem to be working. When I put my foot on the gas pedal, however, nothing happens, and then it dies. It doesn't rev at all, just kills the engine.

Below are the details of what happened. Bear with me: I'm going to provide a lot of info so you can help troubleshoot.

I've been having some issues with the car, like sluggish starts, occasional (though rare) stalling out while idling at a stoplight, and some hiccups while traveling down the freeway. So, I decided to start small/inexpensive and work my way up. I suspected the MAF, so I picked one up at a salvage yard and replaced my old one. That helped a lot. The car had started to go into limp mode all the time, and the new (old) MAF made it drive better and it also stopped switching to third gear and staying there. I have still been getting the dreaded {!}, but at least it changed gears.

Today, I finally had the opportunity to clean the ICV and the throttle body, as well as to replace the intake boots. I worked my way down to the intake boots, wrestled with those and finally got them out. I went in to get the ICV and ran into some difficulty with the lower intake boot. It took more wrestling, but I got the boot off which allowed me to finally get the ICV out.