E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:ben:
I have a 2003.5 M3 which just started making a terrible ticking noise yesterday. The audio quality is bad so it sounds slightly worse than it is, but the ticking is loud and seems to be coming from the valves. Does it just need a serious valve adjustment? Or is something much worse. Rod Bearings?

It started happening pretty instantly. I heard it one before two days ago, but it stopped instantly so i wasnt sure what to make of it. I dont plan on driving it until its fixed. I am new to the m3, but I had a 330ci for 3 years so i am fairly familiar with e46 basics.

LINK: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_-Y6gwBb6o&feature=youtu.be

·
Registered
192 Posts
That sure doesn't sound like valves to me. If I were to guess I would say your vanos is what's making the noise. Maybe broken hub or bolts or both. Hopefully someone with a lil more knowledge will chime in. Hope you get it fixed soon tho.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Could be fuel injector gone bad. The car has pretty loud injectors as it is and that frequency i pretty fast. how many miles on the m3?

·
Registered
26 Posts
btw....take a long screw driver...stick it between different parts of the engine and your ear - to locate where the noise is coming from. Use it as a stethoscope. Youll hear it very very loud and might even feel it.

Points to look - vanos exhaust side and intake side
Fuel injector rail...on each injector. I was listing to mine with an actual stethoscope this morning so I know the sound they make. This sounds way louder but same frequency....so It could be that.

Hope that narrows it down for you

·
Registered
483 Posts
From all the Vanos related research I have done this does sound like that!! Agree with above - do not start again or drive. Call a flatbed and get your car to an Indy or dealership ASAP.