BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,411 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys a while back i posted about installing my headers and that i was going to wrap them and some of you where interested in what it would look like and why. Some of you had a few questions so here are the Answers

-Whats the point?
Well im no scientist but here is what i know/have found. On Big HP hot rods the headers can get bright red after a hard run and can burn things and heats up the air under the hood.

Know i know our BMWs dont pump out lots of power but the headers do get hotter than stock. Header wrap does 2 things. Keeps the exhaust hot while keeping the engine bay cool. Colder air makes more power everyone knows that. Colder air = more power

A set of wrapped headers vs un wrapped in our BMWs alone the engine bay was nearly 300 F in tempature difference. Its cheaper than coating and works BETTER. The rest is explained in a picture below and it is TRUE.

-Will header wrap "wear out" my headers?
If correctly done right NO!

-What Kind of Wrap did you use and where did you obtain it.
I have a friend here in town that owns a racing shop (Queen city performance) Who was the main guy to parts from back in the day if you had a muscle car you went to him, so i bought some from him.

The kind of wrap dosent really matter since its really matter since its really all the same but ive been using this stuff for years

-How do i know how much wrap to use?
Good question there is a formula for that ! Its even on the box !

-how much overlap do i use.
Dont use more than 1/4" overlap More than a 1/4" overlap will make spots of the headers too hot and cause fatuige which people incorrectly think the fatuige is from water or being wet
Here is a tip, after cutting the correct lengths soak the strips in water. this will help you when it comes time to bending the wrap how you want it