BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys

I've swapped in a new engine harness and now I'm getting a fuel pump relay error code 69 in ms4x flasher and INPA

The wiring all tests out good and so does the relay.

Any suggestions where to look next?

·
Registered
11,102 Posts
Why did you swap in a new harness? Did you do an engine swap or was the old harness bad? Are you sure the new harness is compatible with your car?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Why did you swap in a new harness? Did you do an engine swap or was the old harness bad? Are you sure the new harness is compatible with your car?
Old harness was destroyed by previous owner.

The new harness was ms42, so I changed the pins to i suit ms43. I did not touch the fuel pump relay wiring. Could it be something in the ecu?

·
Registered
4,591 Posts
I am an apprentice electrician
Yes, kind of sounds like it cuts out when I push the gas
OK, so when the fuel cuts out, I would check if the relay output is 12v or not, and if not, then is the relay energized by the DME, and if not then check at the DME connector if the pin that connected to the relay has 12V (or grounded if it is active low) to energize the relay.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Y
OK, so when the fuel cuts out, I would check if the relay output is 12v or not, and if not, then is the relay energized by the DME, and if not then check at the DME connector if the pin that connected to the relay has 12V (or grounded if it is active low) to energize the relay.
Thought of that earlier, hooked up my meter to the pump. While revving etc pump still holds around 12.6v, seems fine?

·
Registered
11,102 Posts
The relay could be going bad. Maybe the DME is checking pump voltage and is seeing something that you can’t see with a meter. My advice is to buy a new relay. It’s cheap insurance.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #13