E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
I am going to attempt this myself this weekend. However, I do plan on bringing the carriers to a shop to have the old steel sleeves pressed out and the new bushings pressed in. One question, why did you have to remove the front wheels before taking the carriers off? Also, did you tighten the brace back on while the vehicle was still up in the air, or were they tightened down after the car was lowered on to it's own weight. The reason I ask is, I read somewhere that if you do not tighten up the bolts under the weight of the vehicle, some binding could occur after lowering the car. I am new to all of this, so pardon my stupidy. Thanks

·
Registered
245 Posts
Started replacing my bushings today

Finally got up enough nerve to attempt to change out my front control arm bushings today, so far, so good, Tim's write up has been very helpfull so far. I only had time today to remove the drivers side carrier and clean up the control arm. I managed to get the rest of the bushing off of the control arm with a 2 jaw puller I borrowed from a friend (see pic). This worked extremely well. I am going to try and make the tool Tim described in his write up to remove the metal sleeve from the carrier. Do I need a bech grinder to grind down the pipe cap or is there another way (don't have a bench grinder). Also, the new bushings have like a lip on both sides, how did you press the new bushing in with the lip, did it just squeeze through? How much does autozone charge to rent a ball joint press for a day? Thanks in advance...

Attachments

·
Registered
245 Posts
tim330i said:
Glad you are giving it a try.

I used an angle grinder but a bench grinder, dremel tool or something else might work also.

The lip on the new bushings just gets pushed through. A ball joint press requires a $105 deposit but is fully refundable when you return the press, so it actually doesn't cost you anything to rent it.

Good luck,
Tim