BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.

I am approaching the 5 month anniversary of my car this month. My 04' 330ci is a bit over 5000 miles. My car seems to be runnin all so smoothly. Should I consider an oil change at this point or should I wait until the "Oil Light" flash to indicate an oil change at the BMW Dealer?

I am new to this and have never had a BMW before. So I am curious as wanting to keep my engine running smoothly and nothing breaking in my car to keep it healthy should it require oil changing.

If so, what oil type should i purchase and how much would it cost?
Is it also easy to do it myself on the car or should i bring it into the dealership?

Thanks all for your info.

·
Registered
721 Posts
BmW4Ever330ci said:
Hello.

I am approaching the 5 month anniversary of my car this month. My 04' 330ci is a bit over 5000 miles. My car seems to be runnin all so smoothly. Should I consider an oil change at this point or should I wait until the "Oil Light" flash to indicate an oil change at the BMW Dealer?

I am new to this and have never had a BMW before. So I am curious as wanting to keep my engine running smoothly and nothing breaking in my car to keep it healthy should it require oil changing.

If so, what oil type should i purchase and how much would it cost?
Is it also easy to do it myself on the car or should i bring it into the dealership?

Thanks all for your info.
If it's a lease then I would wait for the oil light; I am! If it's your then I would change it at 7500 (half of the factory suggestion) and let the dealer do it under warranty at 15K. Use a high quality synthetic oil such as Mobil 1 or even the original Castrol Synthetic. Just be sure to use the correct oil weight.

·
Registered
266 Posts
First Oil Change at 5000miles?
I have an 04 330 also,

My plan 2 oil changes a year appx every 5000 miles.