BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been doing a heckuva lot of coronavirus go for a drive entertainment driving and my coolant light came on and I’m low!

Looks like down to about the bottom of the expansion tank. Maybe 2 or 3 cups low? (Why is another question.)

I live 1000 miles from the nearest BMW dealership and any official BMW Engine Coolant.

Can I top back up with this NAPA 50/50 Prediluted “FOR ALL MAKES AND MODELS – ADD TO ANY COLOR ANTIFREEZE”?

If not what can I use if not BMW Coolant? Color?

I’m pretty new to this great car and am pretty spooked by improper engine coolant horror stories I find.

2002 325xi Wagon
F27E804F-1D2E-4D9D-B87C-FB58520FB525.jpeg

·
Registered
123 Posts
Order some oem coolant online, but you should be fine to use that as a temporary replacement just to keep you going, also will probably be a good idea to see where the coolant is disappearing to!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
E30M3 Race F10 535 R1150Rt M Coupe
2,028 Posts
Water always works, if there's a leak and future repairs are indicated.
We see folks mix universal green/BMW blue all the time.

·
Registered
E39 E90 E46 F10
4,991 Posts
Water needs to be the distilled variety. No, bottled water is not the same.

If that's silicate, nitrate, borate, etc.-free then I'd use that.

·
Registered
2003 330i
154 Posts
If your expansion tank has a float, use that to gauge the amount in there and what's needed. If you're looking down into the tank, yeah, it's gonna look like it needs a drink, but probably doesn't.
The top of the float shaft should be at about the very top of the tank--it's a general thing, so you don't put too much in there.

·
Registered
2004 325i automagic
2,382 Posts
Been doing a heckuva lot of coronavirus go for a drive entertainment driving and my coolant light came on and I’m low!