BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i have a 2003 330i zhp with 18' rims, current sizes 235/40-18 and 255/35/18. why i have 235's in the front, i dont remember. should i go back to 225's? also i currently have accelera phi's which arent amazing tires but im just a daily driver, no crazy gripping but i do enjoy hugging turns here n there and theyve been ok for that.

im not looking to spend a lot of money on tires, but im not looking to get the cheapest either. keep the acceleras or swap them out?

thanks

·
Registered
E30M3 Race F10 535 R1150Rt M Coupe
1,252 Posts
A tire thread is almost as bad as an oil thread. That said I'll offer some advice.

Avail yourself of a good chunk of time and spend a lot of time reading reviews (both the Company videos and the user) over at tirerack.com

You can select tires two ways at tire rack: Punch in your car and see the offerings.
Conversely you can manually enter the two different sizes and the list will populate differently. Use both.

As a generality I would suggest to buy the best tires your budget permits, supported by the reviews of longevity, dry & wet traction and braking.

Given that I started in this business at a tire store I feel that tires are one of the most important parts of the car. To wit: A new Michelin PSS replacing a worn Kumho is tantamount to a suspension upgrade.

Another thing, you get what you pay for. Most budget friendly tires feel great when new, however somewhere about the 50% wear area, they turn into a hydroplaning noisy piece of black rubber. Top tier Michelins and Continentals stay true right to the end. Naturally very worn tires hydroplane easier than new.

Avoid tires with large trapezoidal tread sections. Aggressive driving, lowered suspensions and bad wheel alignments tend to turn up the corners of these individual tread blocks. This in turn can emulate a wheel bearing going bad.

·
Registered
16 Posts