BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I dont actually own one, but im a BMW lover and im considering buying one.
I have one in sight for a fair price.

Problem is, the guy is telling me the car is misfiring, that it runs fine but starts missfiring on "neutral positions".

He also says its an injector leaking fuel, that it would cost £60 the part and arrount also £60 for the fitting.

Anyone has any advice on this?

Is this something i can do by myself? If i buy the part? I have no car mechanic experience, only a bit of motorcycle, but im guessing with all the youtube videos available, can't be impossible, but need an honest opinion.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!
Even if i dont buy this one, i'm really considering an e46 so had to start here :evil:

·
Registered
248 Posts
You really must get codes, now if that injector has an external leak then it probably is not the cause of the misfire? I just went through a P1353 code and checked, that plug, coil, harness to the coil and eventually found a vacuum leak at the CCV drain hose. An injector may cause a misfire but E46 Fanatics do not recommend blindly throwing parts at a problem!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you for your quick replies and help.

I will try and check it out.

But just for once, assuming the guy is honest (like i know i am and believe it or not, most people are), would the cost be something like what he said?

Cheers

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,166 Posts
Hello all!

I dont actually own one, but im a BMW lover and im considering buying one.
I have one in sight for a fair price.

Problem is, the guy is telling me the car is misfiring, that it runs fine but starts missfiring on "neutral positions".

He also says its an injector leaking fuel, that it would cost £60 the part and arrount also £60 for the fitting.

Anyone has any advice on this?