E46 Fanatics Forum banner

Is this a scam or legitimate? My guess is definitely scam.

  • Yes, obviously.

    Votes: 56 91.8%
  • Nope, he's legit.

    Votes: 1 1.6%
  • Tough call.

    Votes: 4 6.6%

e46 m3 buy, is this a scam or real? Must see.

14542 Views 53 Replies 35 Participants Last post by  nickr519
Hi, my names nick and I'm new to the forum (although I have been browsing it for quite a while haha). I live in the Phoenix, AZ area and I have been in the market for an 6mt e46 m3 coupe for a little while. I have been scoping out the phoenix craigslist and have test driven a few m3's I have found (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QB-Y1KpBFmU). Recently, I have made a shocking discovery on craigslist, one that I am ALMOST certain is too good to be true.

Someone was offering a quote unquote Clean 2003 M3 convertible... for 7500 dollars. Yes, $7500. Naturally, I sent him a shocked email, asking if it was really true. This is our conversation from that point on:


Hello there and thanks for your interest,
The car is in perfect working condition.It has no scratches on and hasn't been involved in an accident, no rust.
The motor runs very well.The car was always garaged and never been smoked in.The interior is very clean.Also I want you to know that the car is fully paid off, it's not under leasing or bank liabilities.I am sorry to sell the car for $7,500 but my wife has serious health problems and I need the money to save her life.My wife is very sick and I want to tell you that I am not selling this car for profit.I sell the car to help my wife.I hope to find a buyer as soon as possible.I attached some pics for you.If you have any further question please do not hesitate to ask in order to make this a successful deal.
Best Regards
Mileage: 34,351
Exterior Color: White
Interior Color: Grey
Transmission: 6 SPD MANUAL
Engine: 6 Cylinders
2003 BMW M3 Convertible, Soft Top, 6 Cylinder, Manual 6 Speed, Power Windows, Locks, Seats, Roof, Mirrors, A/C, Cruise Control, Anti-Lock brakes,
CD Player, Harmon-Kardon Sound System W/ Sub woofer, Keyless Entry, Alarm System, Fog Lights, Memory Seats, Bucket Seats, Driver/Passenger Air Bags,
2WD, 2 Doors, Rear Window Defroster, Wiper, Tinted Glass, 19" Alloy Wheels, Aluminum "M" Pedal Set, Rear Spoiler, Car Cover, Non-smoker. Mint condition!
All Original Manuals, Never Raced, Very Pampered, Rain Sensor, Xenon Lights,Navigation, 2 Sets of Tv's in the back
(This was followed by the pictures I have attached)


This car looks amazing! I showed my dad everything and he barely believes his eyes, similar to my reaction, and he wants me to follow up with you immediately. (I happen to be the car expert between the two of us). Is there any way you could take a picture of the placard located inside the door which contains the VIN number? My dad wanted to run a carfax like he has with all the other m3’s we’ve looked at together. By the way, my cell phone number is xxx-xxxx – feel free to contact me (Nick) if it is easier for you than using email. Also, where in the area are you located?


Hello there and thank you for comming back,
First off all I want to tell you the car is located in North Bergen, NJ.The sale price is $7,500.00 with shipping/handling included.
The car will be delivered to your address in no more than 5-6 working days.You will be given a 5 days inspection period from the day you receive the car at home.
I´ll like to use an eBay service, so we'll be both protected. No money first to me, i will receive money after you will receive the car.The transaction will be made under
eBay's buyer protection plan. Since this deal will be made using a THIRD PARTY to help us closing this deal, I prefer honnest buyers.
Please let me know if you have the funds available and wish to explain you the payment and shipping process.
Thank you
To view the CARFAX Vehicle History Report, please click the link below:
2003 BMW M3 (WBSBR93423PK03705)

Okay, so nearly everything he has said has pointed me in the scam direction for this. But i figured I would consult the fanatics for a little bit of help. Thanks in advance guys, ill keep it updated.


See less See more
1 - 2 of 54 Posts
well that sucks because that means that K&N, which i always thought was a reputable company, is lying to anyone who views this page!

And oh that sounds good man, no one said I was buying this car either hah. I'm not in the market for a lambo, but thanks anyway for the sarcasm :)
Yea K&N are full of BS

Lol. Scam for reall. You can sell a M @ carfax for cash for AT LEAST $15k. Just have someone check it out and drive it and look at all the documents.It's 100% sure a scam through ebay somehow.

He is using English as a second language. He's probably in Nigeria scamming several people. :facepalm:

I would bet $1000 it's a fking scam
Ha - my wife is dying but "...Because of my job I am traveling a lot and I can not stay home and expect to meet potential client..." What an idiot.
Then how is he able to ship it? :lmao:
1 - 2 of 54 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.