BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from Australia.
Can anyone direct me to a BMW electronics guru or race shop that can help me.
I am installing a LS1 gen III :ben:with stand alone engine management into my 1999 E46 coupe. BUT need some sort of piggy back system to attach to the BMW DME to make it think the bm engine is still there. I was told this is required to keep the other systems in the car functioning properly.
any suggestions or directions would be greatly appreciated.
and yes this is a mammoth undertaking I know I am an idiot but feel free to remind me of that if you like:thanks:
coop.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,409 Posts
Pics? Would help before I start answer and tons of questions...

-TrippinBimmer
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
273kw


Here is the 2003 motor during removal, still a long way to go before I start a specific thread, gathering all the needed parts and tech first. so dont get too excited. Have seen vorschlag kit and y-tube vids, and have to sell my E39 to cash up for the big spend. will video, photo and DVD the whole project, but months to go yet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33,108 Posts
That will involve some serious electrical and automotive know-how to make the DME think there is still a BMW engine. You will have dozens of sensor signals replicated or gathered from the LS1.

Definitely requiring professional help if you want to keep the stock DME. I don't know who to recommend though, sorry. :dunno:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,409 Posts

Here is the 2003 motor during removal, still a long way to go before I start a specific thread, gathering all the needed parts and tech first. so dont get too excited. Have seen vorschlag kit and y-tube vids, and have to sell my E39 to cash up for the big spend. will video, photo and DVD the whole project, but months to go yet.
Ic ic... I have a 5.3L from a 2005 Tahoe on its stand alone system with a 4l60e. Its running but I haven't decided I want to integrate it to my Jeep ECU. Anyways, So u want to have ur DME and Stock guages fully operational? With this you will have to do alot of work. Machine and etc...It is possible but tons of work. More info on the drivetrain will help me what u are working with and etc...

-TrippinBimmmer

BTW: Didn't mean to be an a** on about asking pics. There is tons of thread like this and its all talk.:facepalm:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I am just not sure what is the best option to retain instrument function.
ie keep the factory BMW gauges and DME with temp and oil etc from the LS1 to the BMW harness.
Or I have been thinking that the LS1 with its ECU (DME) could feed information to the GM instrument cluster, which just happens to be a very close size and shape to the BMW cluster, Install the GM gauges in the BMW dash, supply all engine and speed signals from the Gm ECU to its original instruments.
I can rewire an old school bike or car with out an electrical diagram,
but I am unfamiliar with Canbus systems and what I need to do to keep the BMW DME working and if it needs to be there at all. I am sure it has control over more than just engine management, security,and instrumentation .
Mechanical, Electrical, and sheet metal is my trade but electronics is my down fall. I dont expect any visitors to this thread to solve the many problems I face. just looking for suggestions on which direction to go first.

I will post new photos as i go in an album on my profile page for now,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Ic ic... I have a 5.3L from a 2005 Tahoe on its stand alone system with a 4l60e. Its running but I haven't decided I want to integrate it to my Jeep ECU. Anyways, So u want to have ur DME and Stock guages fully operational? With this you will have to do alot of work. Machine and etc...It is possible but tons of work. More info on the drivetrain will help me what u are working with and etc...

-TrippinBimmmer

BTW: Didn't mean to be an a** on about asking pics. There is tons of thread like this and its all talk.:facepalm:
No problem I understand, seen them all in my own search for information.
I have no problem with the install of the LS1 mechanically and structurally....only the electronics side of things.
I will install the LS1 and Tremec 6 speed into a 1999 E46 323ci manual car. I have a Turner MS body reinforcement kit, GTO brake upgrade, some K-Mac suspension bits, and will fit a LSD insert into the 323 diff. plan is also to widen the rear arches in steel, and facelift the front beyond that we shall see.
I found an artical in BMW performance mag with a Ls1 powered E36 with factory guages but the builders tunerworks did not go into detail about the electronics side of the install. Maybe Tunerworks Performance in Calgary can help with info.
Will have to stay up late and give them a call soon.
Coop
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Ok. thanks for the reply mkodama. Just got the motor and box out on sunday
Coop
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
fuckin sick indian.

anyways have you looked at any AEM piggybacks?
Not sure what an AEM piggy back is? Will I need viagra?:4ngie:
Was expecting to find someone out there who could build a plug in for my DME to simulate the engine is there but not necessarily running I guess...
(off topic sorry) if you think that Indian is sick what about this one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
How did the swap go?
Still working on the car, Have only managed to get the front end repairs completed so far, update parts all painted, but while inspecting underneath I found chassis tears from the rear sub frame and will have to hold off on the transplant until I find out if BMW Aust will repair the Damage (photo in my albums) Have a ton of bike work to get done by the end of the year so just going a little slow on the car right now. But a local guy I now has just got his E36-LS1 on the road, so I hope to catch up with him soon.
coop

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
No suicide on this, Mid mount controls, customer wants user friendly ride and has a bad leg injury that requires simple ride control.
but a shift stick with cool knob on top would look sick.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
I know this thead is old but I thought I may dig it up with some new info.

I doubt it will interface, I would just weed the stock engine managment system and replace the stock gauge cluster with aftermarket gauges. The only way you could interface the two is run both the GM and BMW sensers and have a custom program writen for the BMW pcm to recalibrate all of the data peramters. Then there is the fact that you just added two more cyl. I dont know what you would do about that. But I think that enless you can write your own softwear you are pissing in the wind.

I have done a lot of gen III and gen IIII LS swaps and have yet to find a way to interface the GM computer with any other vehicles engine managment system. I have gotten the gauge cluster on a 98 TJ to half ass work. The only thing that I never could get right was the tach. I used the stock Jeep oil sending unit in the oil filter adapter housing, stock fuel sending unit was left in the tank and I put a pise of hose in plase of the pump as a pick up for the frame mount Walbro 255, wired the alternator bigtails together, I used an Atlas II transfercase that had the Jeep speed sensor in it and kept the GM VSS in the 4l60e. And for the coolant gauge I taped the pasenger head and put the stock jeep sending unit into the cooland passage.

So maybe you can use this info to some how create a solution to your interface problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #17 (Edited)
Thanks for your input guys, No have not lost the dream of getting this done, Just been crazy busy in the Bike shop of late,
But here is the progress.... (will start a new thread about the install as I get to it0
Fitted my own sub frame floor repair plates, copied off TMS (thanks)
used a little bit thicker material, and TIG welded the lot, took about 10 hours with repairs, clean up, etc.
What can I say, (fussy bastard)

At the same time I got the QUAIFFE LSD installed into the stock housing along with all new bearings and seals of course.
Cleaned and painted every thing,
new rear control arms, TIG'ed on some brace plates. and chipped off all the weld splatter from the subframe before a coat of epoxy black, and fitted some powerflex bushes.

Then while slaving away under the back end, I replaced every suspension bush,
Added BimmerWorld Travel limiters to the new rear control arm bushes, New rear springs.
White line sway bars and bushes, media blasted the rear alloy parts. and new shocks.
BimmerWorld shock tower support plates. front and rear.
Used some motorsport diff mounts (Solid rubber type)

Last but NOT least I fitted some DBA rotors and TMS Braided brake lines.
Then went out and picked up my NEW WHEELS 20 x 8.5" rears with 255 Hankooks and 19 x 8" fronts with 245 hankooks

Also added coil overs up front and new front contol arms, ball joints, sway bar, rotors, brake lines. front chassis to cross member brace plate. from GP, genuine parts in Germany .
The dealer here in OZ wanted $650 AUS Trade price. While Pelican was about $150 Aus. and Germany was $100 Aus, with cheaper shipping. so I got a bunch of stuff at no extra cost to ship.

Not bad for an older 2000 328ci eh?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #18 (Edited)
And it seems I may be able to keep the stock dash, weed out the M52TU harness as you said, and will run some extra digital instruments from the LS1 ECU, I have been told the LS1 ECU can compensate for a 6 cyl tach also. but way too much to do before I get there.
more on that in the main thread, when I have spare time,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
no it will run a 6cyl tach but the RPM's are 500 off. You can't calibrate the stock Jeep tach (doubt you could do the e46 eather) and the PCM crank signal is where the tach gets its reading, so you cant do anything with that eather.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
What I do is take the gauge cluster out, use the "glass" as a template and cut a piece of aluminum to fit in its place then cut the holes for my gauges. I use digital autometers, I then wired up the warning lights to some small LED's that I get from a local electronics shop (you will have to put an inline resistor in) the speedo I buy has an odometer and trip built in that you can set to an existing milage when installing. The gauges arn't cheap though, I think I had about $900 in the hole setup.
 
1 - 20 of 33 Posts
Top