BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
809 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Introduction
Greetings. I am new to these forums and would like to introduce myself. Pardon my English, there I live in Belgium and English is not my mother tongue. I used to work as a mechanic and have good knowledge about cars and engines, although I still want to learn more about stuff like rebuilding engines and stuff like that.
If you want to pass the introduction and skip straight to the vehicle, just scroll down.

I have owned several cars. Opel (Vauxhall in UK I think) Astra F 1.6 16v, E36 320i, E32 730i (which I still have), E34 520i (sold at 360 000km), ... The last car I owned was a E46 320d 136hp. It took me where I needed to go and never let me down. It was a very decent car, but I wanted something more fancy and faster, so I started searching for a E46 320Ci or E34 with big engine.
The problem with Belgium is that we have probably the highest road-tax on a worldwide scale. Anything with an engine bigger than a 2 liter and you pay a lot of taxes. Anything with an engine bigger than a 2.5 liter means that once a year you pay taxes for your car that are about the same as your monthly salary.
It had to be a petrol-engine with LPG. Because I love petrol and hate diesel, but didn't want to pay the rediculously high prices for gas. LPG here is around 40-50 cent per liter. After a lot of searching on German websites, since Belgium is a diesel-only country, I found a E46 320Ci, 2003, with 208 000km on it. It was only a fraction across the border and a 2 hour drive from where I live.
Once arrived, I thought "omfg, what is this ****?" The vendor was not a private but "professional" vendor. My problem with these vendors in general is that they
1. Don't know **** about cars in general
2. Buy and sell cars based on numbers (mileage, age, ...) but don't have a clue about the technical history of these cars
3. Are rude