E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I replaced the trailing arm bushings on my 2002 330i today and I'm finished except for one bolt that I suspect that I've cross threaded. It's one of the three bolts on one side that hold the bracket to the body. The bolt turns easily and then binds completely with at least a 1/2-inch to go.

I'm an amateur machinist so I have some skills, but I haven't done this this type of repair and I'm worried that I only have one shot to fix this correctly without creating an even bigger headache for myself.

So I'd really appreciate some advice.

The bolt appears to be a M12x1.5

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I retapped the hole. The bolt went in easily but I'm a little nervous because the threads won't be as strong. The car is going to get an alignment this week and I'm hoping they won't have a problem with that bolt.

If they do, then I assume the next step would be to install a helicoil.

·
Registered
730 Posts