E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, new here. I recently purchased a 2000 328i with 96k miles all factory. Few issues however, can't help but think they are all related.
-coolant light pops on and off randomly.
-heater only starts to work after running for about 20 mins and only works under acceleration.
-after driving i smell coolant or a sweet smell from under the hood with slight white smoke/steam.

Car doesn't overheat at all and runs great, no CEL. Coolant isn't low and do not see any leaks on the payment.

And help would be great, thanks guys. I'm brand new to beamers but have worked on plenty of cars(moderate driveway mechanic)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Nope, not wet inside at all. The coolant smell is only after running/driving for a while and can only be smelt from the engine bay.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Update**** I completely misunderstood the way to check coolant levels. With that being said, while the engine is cold the "float stick" is way below the ET neck, can I top of with distilled water or get bmw blue coolant?

·
Registered
2003 330i ZPP
340 Posts
Update**** I completely misunderstood the way to check coolant levels. With that being said, while the engine is cold the "float stick" is way below the ET neck, can I top of with distilled water or get bmw blue coolant?
Use coolant. I think a cooling system overhaul might be in order. That's step number 1 when buying an E46. FCP Euro has an overhaul kit. Also, there are two pipes that run beneath the intake manifold. Might want to look at those while you're at it.

·
Premium Member
2005 330xi Auto, 2006 330ci Vert Auto
916 Posts
If you smell coolant after a drive, you have a leak. Do you see any white spots due to dried up coolant?