BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post so I figure i'll give a background on my car. If you do not want to read this skip to the smiley face. Original owner owned the vehicle until roughly 181k. He took the car to Erhard BMW and had all the maintenance completed. I have a stack of receipts costing more than I actually paid for the vehicle. I purchased the car from the second owner at 182k who had the it for a little over a year and only put 1000k miles on it due to door handle problems. Any ways here we go..

:craig:

I attempted to remove the CDV today and jacked up the car and it appeared that the valve already been removed. This kind of sucks because the whole 1st to second jerking is still in affect. Clutch seems to be really sensitive within those two gears and I hate having to stop at red lights. I am not experienced with manuals but the most recent manual car I did drive was a cobalt ss and it did not do this... maybe my clutch is going I do believe it is the original at 183k!!!!

Now to the real :banghead: the RTABs

I was experiencing the "bump hop" or whatever it is described as, along with some inside tire wear, and also when I spun my tires around turns the rear was making a thumping noise like the tires were skipping. I decided to order RTABs and give it a go.

They arrived today and I jacked the drivers side car up removed the tire and noticed that the shock was overextended. I disconnected the bottom bolt and "plop" the shock fell apart. Looking around at this mess I also noticed that the spring was busted. I decided to say screw the RTABs right now as I have bigger issues. I did not hear any type of clunking or rattling before doing this but after getting upset uncovering this :censor: i put it back together and now its rattles like a :censor: :censor:

·
Registered
2,084 Posts
Sorry to hear what you found man!

A) Great time for H&R Springs and Bilstien/Koni shocks