E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I just got a 04 Carbon Black/Cinnamon coupe and I need tips on detailing/cleaning/waxing the interior/exterior. What products do I need, how can I keep from getting swirls, when should I start detailing?

Should I go with the new Meguirs NXT or should I stick with Zaino for CB? Also, how can I keep the leather looking new? Also, I was going to pick up a clay bar, but is it too early to start clay barring?

What kind of towels should I use for cleaning/waxing/etc. and where can I get them?

I'm a total newb, so any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
171 Posts
manav said:
Hi,

I just got a 04 Carbon Black/Cinnamon coupe and I need tips on detailing/cleaning/waxing the interior/exterior. What products do I need, how can I keep from getting swirls, when should I start detailing?

Should I go with the new Meguirs NXT or should I stick with Zaino for CB? Also, how can I keep the leather looking new? Also, I was going to pick up a clay bar, but is it too early to start clay barring?

What kind of towels should I use for cleaning/waxing/etc. and where can I get them?

I'm a total newb, so any help is appreciated.
These are a lot of questions... (you may want to join Autopia.org and look at the new waves).

I personally like Wolfgang on darker metallics.

http://www.autogeek.net/kitspecials.html

It is like Zaino (it is a synthetic polymer) but I think it provides a warmer finish where as Zaino can look cold and sterile. It's all what you like best. Just know that people that have used Zaino have either: 1) said they would use Wolfgang in the future or 2) stayed with Zaino but still said Wolfgang was a great product. I haven't heard anything bad said about Wolfgang on Autopia. I've used it, it is easy to apply and take off. The pre-wax polish works great but is a little difficult to spread, but nothing horrible.