E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, I'm new to the world of E46's. I just bought mine about two weeks ago. I have already replaced both front wheel bearings, and the valve cover gasket. The one problem is a coolant leak. The car runs fine, but the low coolant light worries me that my BMW could be in danger of overheating. I checked the coolant earlier today and the expansion tank was full. So today in my garage, i pulled the car in. The instrument panel said a headlight was out, so i went to go check that, but left the car in idle. The garage door was open, and it was a hot day. Suddenly the steady hum of the engine started to slow, as if the engine was dying(it was almost overheating). So I ran over to shut off the car, and saw the temperature meter hit the third white line. It wasn't in the red, but near it.

After this scary experience I searched for anything out of place. What i found was that a vacuum hose that ran along the valve cover had snapped. I learned from other threads that this was the Secondary Air Pump Vacuum Hose, and it commonly snaps because it is brittle. This sounds like the cause of the sudden temperature spike, but I want to be sure. Do you guys think this is the problem? For now i duct taped it back together, and put some metal stints to keep the line straight around the break. This is the best i could do for now until i can get another hose.

*Update* This all happened last night. This morning i took a look at the expansion tank and it was bone dry. So i filled it up with coolant and started the car. Seemed to run fine. Pulled out and took a little drive. I drove for about 25 minutes and no complaints. Car ran perfectly, and the fan was running strong.

Attachments

·
Registered
457 Posts