BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
744 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car, an 06 ZHP vert, started yesterday with an erratic idle and seemingly a great loss of power...it ran like sh*t. Decided not to drive it and by the time I shut it off, my "Service Engine" light came on. It sat overnight.

Tried again this morning, same deal. Light comes on after about a minute.

Seemed to make a very slight difference when I removed the oil cap. That sounds crazy, I'm sure.

Vacuum leak?

I know there are some trick to get the OSD to tell you different things, from engine temp to software versions...will it also tell me what code I'm throwing?

I'm not a mechanic so I need somewhere to start. Thought about checking all the spark plugs one by one, and they are probably due for replacing, but I really don't have time to spin my wheels guessing. I also don't have money to just bring it in to the stealership with my son's wedding coming up in March ($7k+ Going to that!).

Any help is greatly appreciated!

// Radar //

·
Registered
10,142 Posts
Without knowing the codes that you have, anything you do is a guess.

You can get a module that plugs into the OBD II data port and sends information to your phone or tablet, and then you can download a free ap, or buy one, that displays what the data is. The module runs to about 20 bucks, and the ap is 5. For under $30, you can have a scan tool that will tell you more than you ever hoped to know. The module comes in a bluetooth version and a wifi version. I have the wifi, and I find that I have to jump through some very minor hoops to get the data from my phone to my PC where I can turn it into charts and graphs. I'm not sure, but I think the bluetooth version will remove the hoops.

·
Registered
744 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Without knowing the codes that you have, anything you do is a guess.